Webinar Series on Post-COVID-19: Implications for International (Development) Cooperation

Apr 3, 2020 | Events

The world is working on mitigating the enormous challenges of the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic, however, some ideas on what the recovery will require are already emerging. It is certain that it will represent a major game-changer in the international (development) cooperation. The United Nations Development Programme Seoul Policy Centre (USPC) is organizing a series of webinars to discuss the implications for international (development) cooperation post-COVID-19. Experts from Southern and Northern think tanks will discuss and share their views on how COVID-19 can create momentum for more and better international cooperation. Each webinar gives will give time for Q&A.

First Webinar: Thursday, April 9, 2020; 7:30 – 8:30 AM New York, 1:30-2:30 PM Paris, 8:30-9:30 PM Seoul. Click here to join webinar.

  • Debapriya Bhattacharya, Centre for Policy Dialogue, Dhaka, Bangladesh
  • Jonathan Glennie, Writer and Consultant, Barranquilla, Colombia
  • Philani Mthembu, Institute for Global Dialogue, Pretoria, South Africa
  • Chuanhong Zhang, China Institute for South-South Cooperation in Agriculture, Beijing, China
  • Stephan Klingebiel, USPC (Introduction), Seoul, South Korea
  • Artemy Izmestiev, USPC (Moderator), Seoul, South Korea

Second Webinar: Tuesday, April 14, 2020,  9-10 AM New York; 3-4 PM Paris; 10-11 PM Seoul. Click here to join webinar.

  • Paulo Esteves, BRICS Policy Centre, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
  • Xiaoyun Li, China Agricultural University, Beijing, China
  • Ian Mitchell, Center for Global Development, London, UK
  • Andrea Ordóñez, Southern Voice, Quito, Ecuador
  • Annalisa Prizzon, Overseas Development Institute, London, UK
  • Stephan Klingebiel, USPC (Moderator), Seoul, South Korea

Third Webinar: Thursday, April 16, 2020, 9-10 AM New York; 3-4 PM Paris; 10-11 PM Seoul. Click here to join webinar.

  • Jorge Chediek, Director of UNOSSC & Envoy of the UN Secretary-General on South-South Cooperation (Opening Remarks), New York, United States 
  • Sachin Chaturvedi, Research and Information System for Developing Countries (RIS), New Delhi, India
  • Anthony Pipa, Brookings Institution, Washington DC, USA
  • Elizabeth Sidiropoulos, The South African Institute of International Affairs (SAIIA), Johannesburg, South Africa
  • Imme Scholz, German Development Institute, Bonn, Germany
  • Stephan Klingebiel, USPC (Conclusions), Seoul, South Korea
  • Artemy Izmestiev, USPC (Moderator), Seoul, South Korea